Innovation through Partnership: THEA Annual Colloquium 2020

Wednesday/Thursday, November 18th/19th, 10am 

Over the coming years, technological universities will be established in every region of the country. At the heart of the technological university concept is an enhanced contribution to the national research and innovation ecosystem as compared to their predecessor institutions. Colloquium 2020 will explore the role of technological universities in that ecosystem via the central theme of Innovation through Partnership, examining how working in partnership increases the potential for research and innovation to have strong “real world” impact and address societal challenges. 

Three themed sessions are available. 

Session 1: Partnership in Action (Wednesday 18th November 2020, 10:00 to 12:00) 

This introductory session will showcase the very broad range of research and innovation partnerships ongoing within the sector. Research and innovation leaders from the sector will speak alongside their project partners about the benefits of working together to deliver research and innovation outcomes which have real impact. Speakers include Dr Catherine Carty, Institute of Technology Tralee and Philipp Müller-Wirth, UNESCO 

Session 2: Tackling Societal Challenges (Wednesday 18th November 2020, 14:30 to 16:30) 

This second session will begin with a look at how the innovation ecosystem in the sector helped address the challenge of the global pandemic. A panel discussion will explore how the research and innovation model within the sector makes it an ideal place to explore solutions to the challenges that society is facing, including recovery from the pandemic. Participants include Dr Niall Smith, Cork Institute of Technology and Dr Elena Martines, European Commission 

Session 3: Towards a Vision for R & I in Technological Universities (Thursday 19th November 2020, 14:30 to 16:30) 

The closing session will focus on discussion of a vision for research and innovation in Ireland’s new technological universities and how they will be integrated into the new national research and innovation strategy. There will be a welcoming addresses from Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris TD, and a keynote speech from Prof. Petter Aasen, Rector, University of South-Eastern Norway, followed by a panel discussion with a group including Jim Breslin, Secretary General, Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science; Dr Orla Flynn, President, Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology; and  Claire McGee, Head of Education and Innovation Policy, IBEC .

Register now